

Experience stunning automotive design at the world's finest concours d'elegance.


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


Aubigny, Methuen, Torbolton and Darnley are the four teams that compete for the House Shield.


After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.




After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.



A temple-folly guarded by two sphinxes, the beautiful shell house was built in 1748 with collected shells and the floor made from horse teeth.









As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.






A bell under each place at the table to signal if butlers can come back in to the dining room, a guests privacy is always paramount.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill



Festival of Speed is our longest-standing Motorsport event, starting in 1993 when it opened to 25,00 people. We were expecting 2000!


When the 9th Duke won the Double Twelve at Brooklands in 1931 he never drove without it throughout his successful driving career.


Where wondrous innovation and future technology is placed in the palm of your hand.


Over the years, the Revival has honoured legends like Jim Clark, Jack Brabham, Dan Gurney and more.


Festival of Speed is our longest-standing Motorsport event, starting in 1993 when it opened to 25,00 people. We were expecting 2000!


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400




Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.










The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.



Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.


Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in.




Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.



Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


According to Head Butler at Goodwood House David Edney "Class, sophistication and discretion".


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!







The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.




The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.




As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.







A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.




A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.

Goodwood House was one of the first places where cricket was played regularly, arguably giving Sussex the claim of being the birthplace of club cricket. Indeed, matches have been played in front of the house since 1702.

In 1727 in Goodwood Park, a game was played between the 2nd Duke of Richmond and a Mr Brodrick. As was common in those days, there was a wager on the match and rules were drafted. That document - the oldest written set of cricket rules still in existence - remains in Goodwood House today. Duplicates can also be found in the Club pavilion and at Lord’s in London.
The Goodwood Cricket Club has a strong link with Lord’s. The 4th Duke was one of the original backers of Thomas Lord when he purchased ‘the rough piece of land’ in St John’s Wood, and the 6th Duke was President of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). The 10th Duke was also President/Patron of Sussex County Cricket Club for 25 years.
Another link with Lord’s could be the club's colours; red and gold. These colours are the racing colours of the Dukes of Richmond, and were first used consistently around 1801. Sometime after their use by the Dukes and their own cricket club, they were also adopted as the colours of the MCC circa 1888.
For much of the club's history the enormous Cedar of Lebanon tree has looked on such players as James Lillywhite, Captain of England (an employee of the Duke) and more recently Sir Colin Cowdrey, Graham Gooch and Nasser Hussain to name but a few. The distinctive tree was grown from seed in 1752 and planted out on the ground in 1756.
The thatched cricket pavilion has remained largely unchanged since it was built in the 1950s. It was not until 1989 that modern comforts such as electricity and a bar were added. Today, the square and pavilion are all maintained by voluntary help. Its unique history and setting make the pavilion a popular venue for weddings.
Anyone for cricket?! A special Chichester Festival Theatre match will be taking place on Sunday 1 September at Goodwood’s stunning and historic cricket ground. Come along and watch for a free family day out in (hopefully) beautiful September sunshine.
Chichester Festival Theatre have invited lots of special guests from shows past and present to make up the Visitors Team and Artistic Director, Justin Audibert, will be captaining the CFT crew.
If you would like to learn more about our fixtures and results then please head on over to Goodwood CC or alternatively the Chichester site for further information.


Dear, lovely game of cricket, that can stir us so profoundly, that can lift up our hearts and break them.
Neville Cardus
Cricket Writer